On Being a True Friend…

21 Mar
One of my best friends had something GREAT happen to her recently. She’s the type of friend who is always there for me. I have called her numerous times bawling my eyes out. She will talk me down, spending hours with me on the phone. To say that I love her like family is not an understatement.

While we do have a couple of friends in common, she has many other friends I do not know, and after this wonderful thing happened to her, I was SO angry with them.

What happened was this: After this GREAT thing happened to her, she told me that after sharing the news with a couple of her other so-called friends, she said they didn’t seem happy for her AT ALL. In fact, some of them seemed jealous and wanted to know – before even saying “congratulations”– how they too could get what she got.

This pissed me off, because it upset my friend. I thought she should re-think some of these friendships.

A true friend IS happy when something good happens to you, and these friends weren’t being true friends.

Is this a female thing? Why can’t women be happy for other women, especially friends? Men don’t seem to have this problem. Perhaps it’s because men don’t share as much with male friends as us females do with our girlfriends. Or maybe it’s because men don’t really care as much about the opinions of their friends as we females do about the opinions of our girlfriends.

As you get older, you DO realize who your true friends are. Perhaps when I was in my teens or my twenties, I probably did get jealous or competitive with some girlfriends when something great happened to them.

But now that I’m in my thirties, I have a small but very loyal and supportive group of girlfriends. I am always happy for them when something great happens to them. I want the best for them.

Have you ever had a good friend who wasn’t happy for you when something great happened to you? How did you deal? I’m not saying you should ditch girlfriends entirely if they aren’t happy for you. But I’d suggest you rethink your friendship. Because if some of your girlfriends aren’t sincerely happy for you when something great happens (which isn’t all that often really) then you should stick with the ones who really, truly are sincerely happy for you. Am I wrong?

From: @rebeccaeckler

Leave a comment